Cobalt

Cobalt blue is the color of my memory

And staring into your brown eyes I failed to see the shadows

I only saw my own eyes staring back into mine

Not the darkness that would one day take you away…
only

A reflection of my reflection

And I heard your blood and bone

And thought your smile would always be there

And when I put you to bed and turned out the lights

I stood there and listened to you sleep

Never knowing, never knowing

And moving in the shadows

Were all those fears and voices of doubt

The something unspoken
That would one day take you away

Like a memory fading
Into the cobalt blue

Leave a Reply

