A brief sadness in the midst of joy.

Today I had one of those moments… That splits the “fine” with a sliver of misery.
A sigh… a breath… a beat rest
That cesura before the coda.
They were joyful… the couple.
But it wasn’t you.

It is a moment you will never know, now

We were dancing without you

And when your song came on… the one that would have made you laugh with joy as you led the crowd.

I sat down.

And all you missed

All you will ever miss

I will carry and think of you

And what should have been

It’s a fucking shame, really.

A goddamned fucking shame.

It’s okay. I fill my bag with Jelly Bellies and I don’t worry about my blood sugar.

Leave a Reply

