The Music I hear…

I listen so hard sometimes my ears ring
It is silent.
It is silent and dark and cold.
And I think about that song. That song in your heart.
And it was a beautiful song.
Even when it was dissonant.

Even when it was discordant.
And I don’t know why it was cut short.
I think about that song
That ended too soon.
And I strive so hard to sing it
To hear that melody
To sense that rhythm
To see the notes on the dark night sky.
And it is silent and dark and cold.
And when I breathe it makes a shudder
And I breathe out
a sound that is unfamiliar
And I miss the notes of your laugh
And the lines of your smile
And all the noises you made
And I listen to the silence
I listen for your song
And I hope one day, the chord will resolve.

Leave a Reply

