To the sinner, I got your back. I’m on your side.

“Love the sinner, hate the sin.” It isn’t in the bible.

The bible does talk a lot about love. It says that you will know that people are Christians by their love one for another. That everyone that loves is born of God and knows God. It commands us to love… love one another. Love your neighbor as yourself. Love your enemy. Love those who persecute you. It is a tall order.

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails.”

Patient, kind, not envious or boastful or proud… I’m going to put up with a lot. I’m going to be giving and forgiving. I am not looking to get some thing. I’m not in this for me. I don’t care what you did. Your “sin” is irrelevant. I forgive you. Empathy… I feel for you. Love is that human connection. A deep human connection. One that says, hey, I am with you. I got your back. And it is going to cost you. No greater love, the book says, is there than laying down your life for someone…

You can’t love someone if you aren’t for him. You don’t love them if you don’t have his back. You can’t love if you aren’t willing to risk it, to pay whatever cost it may exact from you. It has to be more than pity. It has to be more than a religious agenda to make converts or earn eternal brownie points. You have to be willing to take someone… even an enemy or persecutor, and find a connection. To be on that person’s side.

So the next time someone is out there loving the sinner and hating the sin… if that someone is you, ask yourself if you have this sinner’s back. Are you with them? Are you for them? Or are they just some mark, some piece in an agenda to get something for yourself. Love is a tall order. 

One thought on “To the sinner, I got your back. I’m on your side.

Leave a Reply

